Find Your Light & Let It Shine!

this little lightOne of the most memorable lines from Louise Hay’s movie, “You Can Heal Your Life” was when she recalled the point at which (and I’m paraphrasing) she realized that if she could just get people to love themselves, all these other issues would resolve themselves.

Self-worth; self-love; self-respect.

These seemingly-simple terms are at the heart of the solution to so many problems. Even as someone on a spiritual path who daily encounters teachings that focus on self-love and appreciation I find that it’s easy to talk about people who need to love/respect/value themselves, but not always so easy to love/respect/value myself. Let’s face it; in this media-intense culture, images of the accepted definitions of “good enough”, “respectable” and “lovable” are everywhere, and way too often when we look at them, and then in the mirror, we feel that we do not and cannot measure up. It can be easy to get caught up in the comparisons that leave us with the belief that we’re too much of this or not enough of that to be loved, respected, and valued – even by ourselves. I think about this a lot, especially because I am good at helping others see their worth but often struggle to accept my own. I’m guessing that many of you can relate.

Not long ago at our Center we sang an old song during the Sunday Celebration service: “This Little Light of Mine” – edited for New Thought relevance. One person commented “That raised the energy level in this room significantly!” and she was right. We had a wonderful time singing it together. If you aren’t familiar with this song, here’s the chorus:

This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine;

This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine.

This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine;

Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine!

The original song was based on: Let your light so shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven (Matthew 5:16). My metaphysical interpretation goes something like this: “Let your light SO shine for the WORLD that all of creation sees your beauty, creativity, joy and more; and celebrates the divinity within you as part of the Good that is all of Life.”

We had sung the “Little Light” song a few weeks back so it wasn’t on the TOP of my mind this morning, but after my meditation I kept getting a ‘nudge’ from that song.

Why was that song cropping up in my thoughts? It was odd – I hadn’t listened to the music or discussed it with anyone – why was I thinking about that particular message? And then it came to me and I suddenly heard the words to the song (and that verse) in a totally new context. There is absolutely no qualification provided with the original let your light shine statement. The great teacher, Jesus, did NOT say:

  • let your light shine, but ONLY IF you are pretty enough to be a model
  • let your light shine, but ONLY IF you are thin
  • let your light shine, but ONLY IF you have clear skin and straight teeth
  • let your light shine, but ONLY IF you live in certain zip codes
  • let your light shine, but ONLY IF you have money in the bank
  • let your light shine, but ONLY IF you are a scholar
  • let your light shine, but ONLY IF you have a college degree
  • let your light shine, but ONLY IF you are taller than 5’8″
  • let your light shine, but ONLY IF you drive a certain kind of car
  • let your light shine, but ONLY IF you have an “important” job title
  • let your light shine, but ONLY IF ,…._______________ (fill in the blank).

NO! The scripture conveys Jesus’ message without a single qualifying condition. Let your light so shine

I don’t know about you but when I get a nagging message, I know I need to dig a little further. I had to ask myself, “Am I hiding my Light? (probably), and if so why and what excuses am I using to justify my behavior?”  I find that often when I ask myself “Why couldn’t I,…”  almost immediately I answer myself with “…because you don’t (or aren’t),…

Whoa!  Time to become aware of this and to consciously spend more time in the contemplation of that which I Am,… to remember that the song and the scripture are quite direct.

Whatever it is that we do, whatever we have to share with the world,…we need to Let it Shine – Let it Shine – Let it Shine!

And so It is.

 

Leave a Reply

