Mental & Spiritual Coin

amish-buggy-21411059I used to spend a lot of time wondering how my life would be if I had grown up in the Religious Science philosophy & teaching since childhood. It’s largely a moot point but it is sometimes an interesting “thought experiment”. I was raised with “blinders” on, much like the Amish horses that pulled the buggies that peppered the country roads along the routes to and from my childhood home. Unlike my children, I did not attend Bar and Bat Mitzvah ceremonies and parties in middle school, interfaith weddings in college or have much interaction beyond my White, Wonder-Bread, rural life. I was rooted deeply in the White, Anglo-Saxon Protestant tradition in middle/rural America and other than a handful of Catholics (some of them relatives!), I thought pretty much everyone went to a church like we did.

When I was about to enter high school, we moved out of state, which for country bumpkins who are related to someone in just about every zip code in a 3-county radius, was quite traumatic. Looking back, however it was a blessing of multiples, as my world expanded immensely both in the city we moved to and then when I went off into the US Navy after high school. Still, while I had more occasional interactions with non-mainstream Protestants, I did what expatriates all over the world do in a strange land: I sought out and hung with my own, and for me it was unintentional – a default setting, if you will.

I can’t recall meeting any religious scientists – and I even lived in San Diego in the late 1980s where there was certainly a critical mass at that time. And in knowing what I know today about seeing what we seek, I wonder if I had been introduced to the teachings, if this experience would have been so much larger?

Regardless, I am grateful that TODAY I have these principles and this teaching. It’s interesting to perform “thought experiments” but they’re not productive if they are focused on what might have been. They are, however quite powerful if they are focused on what can be – what IS in the right here/right now. if you catch yourself taking a regret-filled trip down memory lane, erect a STOP sign, and change your thinking, from:

  • I could have made a lot of money,… to –> “I live an ABUNDANT life today and my desires are met with ease.”
  • I could have had a better family life,… to –> “I embrace and appreciate the people in my life: my family blesses and uplifts me, and I am grateful!
  • I could have had a more lucrative career,…to –> “I enjoy a wonderful job, where I contribute each day in a creative, positive way and reap wonderful rewards.

(you get the picture)

In Ernest Holmes’ seminal work, The Science of Mind, we find his take on what we can expect out of life:

The Law is a law of liberty, but not a law of license. It is exact and exacting, and unless we are willing to comply with Its nature and work with It, along the lines of Its inherent being, we will receive no great benefit. Every man must pay the price for that which he receives, and that price is paid in mental and spiritual coin. An avenue must be provided through which the Law may work as a law of liberty, if It is to free us. This does not mean that we must please the Law; for It is impersonal and neither knows nor cares who uses It, nor for what purpose; but, because It is impersonal, It is compelled, by Its very nature, to return to the thinker exactly what he thinks into It. The Law of mental equivalents must never be overlooked; for “Whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap.

We reap (or harvest) in our lives what we sow (or plant) in our minds.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If we focus on what could have been, but isn’t – we’ll be stuck in LACK and disappointment. However, if we can discipline our thinking to the Good that is all around us – whether we see it or not at the moment – we will begin to harvest that Good. We all pay the price for what we receive, and we pay the price in mental and spiritual coin. Think about those coins as if they are going into a large vending machine of Life. If we put in Coins of depression, misery and feelings of lack,… the machine knows only what it receives and will comply. If you want to change your life, start using Coins of Life, Love, Light, Power, Peace, Beauty, Joy, Health & Prosperity and watch the miracles begin to happen. You’ll know you’re on the right track when the little “coincidences” start to add up.  Louise Hay talks about the green lights and parking spaces, and that’s a great analogy. For more specific examples, check out my previous blog posts where I share my ROI when using mental & spiritual coin that are in alignment with my Good.

Lastly, this topic and the trip down memory lane makes me think of the Life Cereal commercial from the same period.

1st kid: “What’s this stuff?”

2nd kid: “Some cereal – supposed to be good for you”

1st kid: “I’m not gonna try it!”

2nd kid: “Let’s get Mikey!”

1st kid: “He won’t eat it – he hates everything!”

Together: “He likes it – hey Mikey!”

– – – – –

If things in your life aren’t working, you might want to follow Mikey’s lead 🙂

Leave a Reply

