Always provided

Over the past few years, I’ve taught my children, interested family, friends and students in prosperity classes that our jobs, bank accounts, stock options or inheritances are not the Source of our abundance and supply. This is nothing revolutionary – certainly in New Thought circles – but when you’re faced with the reality of a bank balance that is lower than the number of days til payday, it becomes much more than an exercise in a metaphysical class.

Apparently I’ve needed to learn this lesson in an up-close and personal manner. After working in a start-up where the money flowed as regularly as the wine at corporate dinners, I decided to do something more in line with serving others so I went back to healthcare,…and took a significant change in pay.

Since that change I’ve had to shift some things around and have found that truly relying on Spirit as the source of your supply takes a brave heart. As a former college professor I also know that reality-based teaching is much more effective than “textbook-teaching” so I’m thankful for the experience not only for my own growth, but for what I can share with others.

Recently I found myself in one of those circumstances where there were more days til payday, than dollars left in my bank account. This is generally when I begin to work on moving past feelings of aggravation about my decision to leave that start-up, sheer terror and shifting into the I am provided energy that I often write about. 

One beautiful aspect of knowing we are provided is that our provision comes to us in some unexpected ways. For me it came this most recent time in the form of business travel, where I was able to leave my car at home (where it didn’t use any gas), and my meals were provided by my company credit card. My transportation was entirely covered by my employer as well. 

I easily & effortlessly made it through that week and I didn’t have to roll coins, eat cereal everyday or borrow money. In fact I enjoyed some nice dinners out with colleagues and friends.

So often when we’re new to these teachings we assume that Spirit’s provision will show up in the form of a check, cash or winning lottery ticket. In several circumstances of note in my own life (one unique story I shared earlier on this blog) it has been the uncommonly simple but effective solutions that have shown up and provided me what I needed. These are the little miracles that arrive when we live in the flow.

As Jesus, one of the great teachers of these principles taught:

25 “Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? 26 Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? 


Affirmation: “I am always provided with all that I need, in perfect time and circumstances”


And so it is.

Leave a Reply

