The Appearance of Angels

Literature and history are filled with the stories of angels who have shown up at opportune moments to help men and women who are in need. We still read modern stories such as those that appear in the publication Guideposts that highlight the saving grace of mysterious beings that appear out of a dark mist to save a wounded traveler, rescue a lost child or frighten away a predator.

Sometimes the Angels are quite ordinary, and the circumstances less dire. This morning I had 3 such angels appear at just the right moment.

I’m traveling out of state for training related to my work. The directions for the morning meeting were vague at best and the people I was supposed to meet up with didn’t materialize, so I was on my own to figure out where I was going once I made it to the medical center property. 

I’d never been to this facility, and absent specific directions indicating which building the training would be held in, I headed to the main hospital building. I figured if it wasn’t being held there, given the number of out-of-town attendees planning to participate, there’d be signs.

I was wrong. Not a sign, and few people at the early hour that I arrived. I was about to panic (albeit mildly), when 2 men walked in holding folders. They looked at me and said, “Six Sigma training?”.

“No – I’m here for Administrative Investigative Board Training,” I said.

At that moment out of the corner of my eye I saw an older woman in scrubs stop and turn around.

“Are you here for AIB training?” She asked, walking toward me.

I nodded.

“You’re in Building 5, out these doors and right across the walk – the building with the lights on the front.” She pointed in that direction.

I may have found that building in time to start, but without markings and with the entrance reception area darkened due to the early hour I would likely not have found it – at least not without a lot of trouble, and may have ended up being late.

This morning 3 angels saved me from a panicked start to a long day. It may seem silly, or insignificant but for me this gift of guidance turned a stressful morning around, and I’m grateful.

Wayne Dyer often began his talks with this reminder: “If you knew who walked beside you, on this path that you have chosen, you could never know fear again.”

The Psalmist puts it this way: “I lift my eyes to the hills, from whence my help comes. My help comes from the Lord (Law)  who made heaven and earth. He will not let your foot slip; he who keeps you will not slumber…the Lord (Law) will watch over your coming and going both now and forevermore.” (Psalms 121)

When we walk in the knowledge and trust that we are not alone, we are provided in every moment, in every instance and circumstance.

And so it is.

  

Leave a Reply

