A Simple Truth

“All that I am, all that I see; all that I’ve been and all that I’ll ever be – is a blessing, it’s so amazing, and I’m grateful for it all.”

These words form the chorus of the infectious and uplifting music video posted by artists Daniel Nahmod and Nimo Patel (linked above). It’s one of those productions that has magical qualities, and like a pain pill for a headache, can be applied on days when things aren’t feeling all that great and will produce wonderful results.

The music and the images are wonderful; it’s easy to get lost in the totality of this gift and to lose the very simple, yet powerful TRUTH that lies at the foundation of what Daniel and Nimo are trying to communicate.

It’s not a new message, but one that seems to be elusive across the general population. Louise Hay taught it in her blockbuster movie that summarized the theme for her life’s work: “You Can Heal Your Life“.

In one of the interviews that formed the basis for the movie Ms. Hay said, “…I used to fix this problem, and fix that problem,…and one day I discovered… that if I would help people to love themselves, to accept themselves as they are,… we didn’t have to work on problems. It was like a miracle – everything seemed to fall away…”

In the 21st century Louise’s work may seem “new” but this message has been around in various forms for a long time. While it’s true that her teaching – and that of fellow Hay House authors Wayne Dyer, Gregg Braden, and others – are based on ancient teachings and truths; a lot of those truths seem to get lost in the modern world. But throughout even the modern historical period, others have sought to teach the masses.

In 1969, Psychiatrist Thomas Harris published what would become a bestseller: I’m OK, You’re OK. The language in I’m OK, You’re OK leans toward the academic therapeutic (e.g. psychiatrist-speak) and is based on the concepts of transactional analysis. The concepts remain aligned, however with the foundations that would later inform 21st century teachings classified as New Thought.

So what do a hippy, last-century psycho-babble book; a new age woo-woo movie and a feel-good music video have in common?

They all share a simple, yet powerful message that is life-changing – if we can grasp it.

Here’s that message: no matter where we are (especially in comparison to what we see in others, and in the media); we have worth, we have something to contribute – we are a blessing to the world.

Some cynics will take issue and ask if I consider someone who harms another to be a blessing. When someone is actively engaged in harming others with their deeds, words or acts of omission it’s not likely that they are pondering their self-worth. Their negative deeds are the outcome of a serious lack of self-love (along with a lot of other issues that are beyond my scope of practice to diagnose).

Let me be clear that I am not advocating denial. When we harm others, our own successful recovery requires that we make amends. Once we move past the need to live and act in a way that harms others and begin to ponder concepts like self-worth, this simple truth can be applied.

The concept seems simple, right? It is. But it’s not EASY. We must learn to stop in the middle of our internal negative dialogue and pivot toward this truth: that we are OK, that we are indeed a blessing to the world – and the term “world” doesn’t mean that we need to invent a new life-saving technology or figure out how to clean the earth’s oceans. Our “world” is the sphere of influence that we inhabit, every day. When we recognize our contributions and worth in that personal world, we plant seeds that can extend outward to the larger world.

If we stay committed to this positive change, and work it every moment of every day; we can arrive at a place in our own lives where we truly believe these words:

  • All that I am: all my faults, limitations, short-comings and failures along with everything that I do well
  • All that I see: everything I see when I look around in my life experience; where I live, what car I drive, what my job title is and my salary number,…
  • All that I’ve been: my past
  • And all that I’ll ever be: my future

…is a blessing; it’s so amazing. And I’m thankful for it all. (Thanks Daniel & Nimo!)

When we can get to a point where this is our response to life, where we understand and apply this simple truth – we truly can heal and live our best life.

(C) 2017 Practitioner's Path
Leave a Reply

