A challenge in practice

(Joel Goldsmith)

Joel Goldsmith, celebrated as one of America’s great Christian mystics, is oft-quoted in metaphysical studies and his works assigned as curriculum in coursework within defined programs of study in metaphysical organizations.

I was combing through the book, “Practicing the Presence” a few days ago and was interrupted. When I came back to my reading, the pages had flipped open to the page that featured this paragraph:

“We dare not ever look outside of our own being for our good, but we must ever look upon ourselves as that center from which God is flowing. It is the function of the Christ, or Son of God, to be the instrument as which the good of God pours out into the world:

I am that center through which God operates, and, therefore I understand the nature of supply. Never will I attempt to demonstrate supply; never will I attempt to get supply. Since the activity of the Christ, Itself, is supply, then all I need to do is to let it flow. Since “I and my Father are one”, and I am the Christ, or the Son of God, I am that place through which God flows. Therefore, I can meet every demand that is made upon me…”

Joel Goldsmith, “Practicing the Presence”, p. 83

Since stumbling upon spiritual metaphysics, I have struggled with an age-old question that has plagued humanity since the introduction of religious rules and regulations; principles and practice.

Why does this stuff work some of the time, but not all of the time?

Some old-school metaphysicians will point out that it always works, according to the consciousness of the person. I have disputed this almost since first hearing it proposed as the reason for non-demonstrations, as have many others.

I also wonder: what is the reason that I have demonstrated a new roof, a way to pay my student loans, and more – while other matters remain elusive (an agent for my book, as 1 example)?

If I knew a definitive answer – something that could be simplified, packaged into a commodity and distributed – I could sell it and become ridiculously wealthy. The continued multitude of offerings on applying the Law of Attraction (or whatever the latest version might be – “scripting” may be the buzzword now) continue to suggest that interest remains high (though not as high as it was after the release of The Secret).

Continuing my reference to Goldsmith’s book, whose writings echo the tone found in John Randolph Price’s Abundance Book, I can only conclude that the “answer” to my own query is this:

“The moment we realize [our oneness with the Divine], good begins to flow to us from outside, from sources all over the globe.”

Joel Goldsmith, “Practicing the Presence”, p. 84

This realization is one that does not track one-to-one with modern metaphysics. In some (not all) corners of what I am referring to as modern metaphysics, more “us” (the individual) and less God is taught. The focus is often presented as being about individual actions, individual beliefs (change your thinking, change your life) and individual consciousness instead of a recognition of the omnipresence of the Infinite. This may not be the intended communication; but at its surface, that is the message that comes across.

I have come to wonder if, as the pendulum swings between extremes, the concept of personal consciousness has been over-emphasized in some corners of metaphysical spirituality, and the impact of Divine influence under-considered.

I look at my own experience, where on many occasions I have turned to spiritual tools to remove myself from an unpleasant situation or circumstance, only to find a path through – not out – of the circumstance. Once on the other side I have found a significant benefit to having remained in that situation/circumstance. This strongly suggests that there is a wisdom; a higher power that knows better than I do and does NOT simply respond to what I want, but sees the big picture and acts accordingly.

This of course isn’t as “sexy” or marketable as manifesting. The path to this kind of manifesting is longer-term (and Americans, especially, have become increasingly impatient); requires self-discipline, self-control and commitment. It is most definitely not a “quick-fix“.

I understand why churches and centers run Prosperity Classes. Who would respond to an advertisement with a tagline that promised a lengthy commitment of time, serious study and introspection, and abundant benefits that are unable to be quickly tallied or measured – AND – sometimes even show up as a decisive “no” to our request? It’s a hard sell except for the most committed seekers.

Sadly, history suggests that the interest in manifesting things out of thin air will not disappear any time soon.

In his book, “The History of New Thought“, author John S. Haller, Jr. wrote:

“The commodification of empowerment and self-discovery has been one of the characteristic elements of New Thought in American life and culture as it competes in the marketplace for audiences—a condition that has left its spokespeople indistinguishable on occasion from the crassest of hucksters. Utilizing oratory, salesmanship, pseudoscience, ritual, and entertainment to elevate the moral tone of their message, these dream weavers provide believers with much-needed assurances that they are the living legacies of the world’s spiritual awakening and that the world is, indeed, their oyster. By playing down dogma, simplifying creeds, and offering oral and visual distractions rich in anecdote, they have won the loyalties of millions to their commercialized spirituality.”

John S Haller, Jr. “The History of New Thought, p. 273

Today, modern New Thought struggles to hold onto its footing and relevance as a movement. Now is a good time to ask at least one hard question: has the “commodification of empowerment” and “commercialized spirituality” created more shallow distractions than deep enlightenment?

As we have preached prosperity, tallied tithes and given a lot of lip service to Oneness; it appears that at some level we have also minimized/sidelined the core Truths of a message that, when fully understood and embraced, can truly heal the sick, feed the hungry, uplift the fallen, and restore the years the locusts have eaten.

It remains to be seen if there is a way out that does not require a total upending of the current status; and only time will tell.

(C) 2020 Practitioner's Path

2 thoughts on “A challenge in practice

  1. Pingback: Historical wisdom | A Practitioner's Path

  2. Pingback: The Hard Work of Healing | A Practitioner's Path

Leave a comment